Just Getting Started

Well…

If you’re here, I expect that’s because you want to know how this all started.

I could tell you a grand story about my life and history. I could tell you about learning to crochet as a kid and making a blanket that looked rather more like a diaper than anything else.

Instead, let me tell you about leaving and about finding.

My husband finished school in 2013 and got an unexpected call to move to Austin, Texas for a job in his field. Without hesitation (not having any children at the time helped), we packed up everything we thought we needed and gave away or sold the rest and headed south. I quit my job in coding and compliance at a local medical clinic and had no idea what I would do when I got here.

We flew from a 1200 square foot house in Western Washington, near our parents, families, friends, and really most everyone we’d ever known to a 1 bedroom apartment on the third floor of a Northwest Austin complex. He had been to Austin for two days to interview and find a home in case it went well. I had a teddy bear from Austin that my dad bought me when he flew home from a business trip many years earlier. If the great move wasn’t enough of an adventure, two weeks later we learned our little blessing was on his way.

So, with a new town, new home, and a new baby on the way life began in Texas. My husband’s office was around the corner from the apartment, so his¬†commute time was very short, but being home all day I really had nothing to do. I cleaned, I cooked, I organized, I unpacked, I even tried my hand at cakes (delicious, but not pretty). Ultimately I came back to an old hobby. Crochet.

My mother taught me to crochet when I was about 8 years old. I learned to knit in college from a friend intent on proving that knitting is not “too many needles to work with.” I picked up different techniques and stitches here and there, largely relying on books or the internet to help when I got stuck. I cannot even count the times that people have said to me “you should sell those!” and so, I do.

I opened up a shop on Etsy.com in October 2013 and plan to keep it open as long as I can. I would like to do more with it as time allows. If you’re here, you probably know that this website is my first real attempt at making it something more that just a hobby. With luck and blessings I may be able to do that. For now, it’s a dream for a mom who is the both the Secretary and Administrative Assistant for her church and getting ready to homeschool her son. Hope you’ll all be there with me to see it come true.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

