Beginner Tool Recommendation!

Oh. My. Word.

needles

Y’all, I literally JUST got these off the porch and I ALREADY am in LOVE!! When I bought them, I thought they were a set of the cheap plastic wire kind (they’re $8.99 for a set of 18!!) but they are SO much better than that!

These bamboo needles have a plastic tubing for a cord that is MUCH more flexible than the cheap ones you’ll get a your local craft store or mega mart and they come in sizes from 2.0mm (US0) to 10.0mm (US15) which is basically EVERY size you will ever need.

I read through some of the reviews and the lower reviews seem to complain that the product is not well made and not sized correctly. Well, I gave a tug on the tubing and while it does have some flex (don’t give it to your toddler) it doesn’t pop off easily. I also pulled out my knitting gauge to check the needle size. If you’ve never seen one, it looks like this:

knitting-gauge

I use the holes in the top to check the knitting needle size when I have needles that aren’t marked or (like for these) that are, but I’m not sure how accurate they are. This set DOES gauge a little small, but only in the larger sizes and we’re talking fractions of a millimeter at that point (this is part of the reason you ALWAYS CHECK YOUR GAUGE).

The other REALLY cool bonus is that you get sizes you wouldn’t normally find in the US like 3.0mm and 2.5mm. If you’re reading international patterns (and goodness knows we do sometimes with the internet), you may run across these sizes and if you’re in the US it may not be easy to find the needles you need in store.

Beginners: this is probably the best gift you can get yourself! They’ll help you remember to check your gauge and they are not NEARLY as frustrating to knit with as some of the needles you can get cheaply in the craft store. BONUS: they have basically every size you’ll ever need, so you won’t need to go out and buy needles every time you have a new project.

Ready to get the product? I got mine on Amazon.com you can too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

