Getting Back to Work

Hey all!

There’s been a LOT going on in the last few weeks, so I thought I would pause and share some of the home life that’s happened as well as give you all a look forward at some of the things to come for the shop and the blog!

For those of you who missed it, we got some new neighbors at my house:

20170510_120542.jpg

And we’ve had some really cool weather (in so many senses of that word):

20170523_164245.jpg

Oh, and then there’s that little thing that happened a few weeks ago:

Baby.png

We’re so happy to have our second son here and the whole family is settling in very well. We were lucky enough to have my parents and my in-laws here back to back to help with the baby and with our three year old. They were such wonderful help, I wish I could keep them all here forever!

It’s been a few weeks now and I’m ready to get back to work on a few things. For those of you who follow me on Facebook, you may remember this basket:

Italic Nesting basket 9.5 inch bath towels1.png

It is the smallest in a series of nesting baskets (baskets that stack inside of each other), and the basis for a pattern that you should be seeing in the shop in June. The pattern will include instructions for this same design for three different sizes and for making an Italic version (pictured above) and a straight version.

I’ll be doing another blog on crochet colorwork very soon to help with some pointers on how to keep your colorwork designs looking sharp in a couple of weeks. Keep an eye out so you get some time to practice before the pattern goes on sale!

We’ll be starting our Christmas Stockings soon and in preparation for that I’ll be doing a little intro on some “fun” yarns that you might find at your local craft store and how to work with them. Pull out your drawing pads and graph paper and get some ideas jotted down for what you would like to have on your sock this December. Christmas in July has never been more serious–or more literal, I think.

The other piece I have in the works is a pattern bundle set for both knitting and crochet. Since we’re all past the beginner stage, I think a set of beginner patterns is in order for all of you who have made it this far! Some will be familiar (like our dishcloth from the Crochet 101 and Knitting 101 tutorials) and some will be new. Keep an eye on the shop over the summer and into the fall for these fun items!

I’ll be sticking to one blog post a week for a little while. I haven’t found a ton of time for working on this between kids and home life (if you’ve read my last couple you may have noticed they’re a little scattered), and I want to continue to give you all my best work if I can.

I think that’s about it for now. As always, I love to hear from you all. If there is something you would like to see or learn, please let me know.

P.S.

Shortly after I finished writing this, I dropped my cell phone (which also serves as my camera–bet you hadn’t guessed that huh?) and shattered the camera glass on it. The face is fine and a replacement is on the way, but you may get a post or two with old, repeat, or borrowed photos until the new one is up and running.

Leave a Reply

